1. Guest,
    We need good tech writers that are willing to help out here at ZL-OA. If you like taking photos of jobs as you perform the steps on your repairs, have historical ads/documents from old magazines, or any else you think belongs in the Technical Library than you might be able to help. Send a private message to Furchin, Mudrunner88, Chris, Jarney, Wuputt, or Markus56 and we can lead you in the right direction to get started.
    Dismiss Notice

Antipodean ZL1000's

Michael Churchill Aug 6, 2018

1. Michael Churchill

Michael Churchill New Member

Hi there, I am a newbie having just bought a pair of rough but near-complete ZL1000's. They are both the same blue metallic colour and in need a lot of work. The VIN on one is 10/87 #1419 and the other is 1/88 #1586. I am excited to be starting the restorations and to have found this group. Best wishes, Michael

Attached Files:

2. 87kawzl

87kawzl Well-Known Member

Welcome, you Aussies are lucky to have that cosmic blue, that is a great color on the 1000. Best wishes on the restoration let us know if ya have any questions.

3. Trojan441

Trojan441 Active Member

Good luck with the restoration work, not sure of the capacity of the petrol tank on the ZL1000, but it might be worth getting them enlarged if they are small, U do not want to run out of fuel in the Outback!

4. markus56

markus56 ZL-OA Co-owner Staff Member Administrator Super Moderator Supporting Member

You've got your hands full restoring those two but certainly doable. We have parts over here in the States if you find they're too scarce over there.

5. R. J.

R. J. Senior Member

:hello: The ZL 1000 holds 4.9 gal. That blue is a nice color. :notworthy:.

6. Trojan441

Trojan441 Active Member

Much bigger capacity than the 900cc version!

7. GaryD

GaryD Active Member

Is there a kawasaki code for the blue colour?

Thinking of blue for my rebuild.

8. MikeC

MikeC Senior Member

Wow, years of restoration fun! Don't get discouraged